Best Japanese Language Schools in Tokyo for Short Courses (2026)
No link on this page is an affiliate link, and we have no deal with any school. Fees come from each school's own price list; most change every April.
For a few weeks on a visitor visa, look at GenkiJACS Tokyo (¥40,000 a week, small classes, from 2 weeks) and Coto Academy (Tokyo) (¥148,000 for 4 weeks), both made for short stays. Larger schools with short courses too: ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses), KAI Japanese Language School, Naganuma School, Akamonkai Japanese Language School and Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute. For six months or more on a student visa: ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses), KAI Japanese Language School, Naganuma School, Akamonkai Japanese Language School and Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute. Small classes of about 10 or fewer: GenkiJACS Tokyo and Coto Academy (Tokyo). Add the registration fee, housing and textbooks to the weekly price.
Seven schools side by side
| Feature | GenkiJACS Tokyo | Coto Academy (Tokyo) | ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses) | KAI Japanese Language School | Naganuma School | Akamonkai Japanese Language School | Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Short course (under 90 days)A course from 1 to 12 weeks that visitors can join without a student visa. | Yes From 2 weeks; tourist visa or waiver up to 12 weeks | Yes 1 to 4 weeks, no student visa needed | Yes From 2 weeks | Yes One term on a visitor visa, or summer course | Yes From 4 weeks | Yes 3 weeks, or 3-month terms | Yes Daily rate under 3 months |
| Long course with student visaSponsors a student visa for 6 months or more. | No Visa course in Fukuoka and Nagoya, not Tokyo | No No sponsorship; sister school Coto Japanese Institute | |||||
| Small classesStates a class size of about 10 or fewer. | Yes Max 8 students | Yes Max 8 students | No Up to about 20 per class | No Max 16 per class | No Max 15 per class | Not found None found: no class size stated | No Max 20 per class |
| Private lessonsOne-to-one lessons are offered. | Yes ¥8,000 a lesson | Not found None found on English course list | |||||
| Help with housingArranges a homestay, dorm or share house. | Yes Homestay, residences, apartments | Not found None found on Coto Academy course or FAQ pages | Yes Own dorms, homestay, guest house, weekly flat | Yes Homestay, share house, dorm; ¥20,000 arranging fee | Yes Women's dorm; introduces other housing | Yes Own dorms; share houses via partners | Yes School share house and partner housing |
| JLPT courseA course or classes aimed at the JLPT. | Not found None found: FAQ says it is not test-focused | Partly JLPT elective for intermediate and up | Yes Online N1/N2 prep classes | Yes N1 and N2 prep program | No FAQ: no JLPT prep classes | Yes ¥25,000 for 10 sessions (outside students) | |
| Online lessons tooAlso teaches online, before or after you come. | Yes Online private lessons | Yes Group from ¥1,900, private from ¥3,800 | Partly Private lessons can be online | Partly Only online JLPT and kanji classes | Yes Run by a group company | Yes Small-group online classes | |
| English-speaking staffStaff can help in English. | Partly Some English in beginner classes; staff not stated | Partly "Multilingual staff"; English not named | Yes Japanese and English speaking staff | Yes Lists an English language assistant | Yes Handles enquiries in English and 5 other languages | Not found None found: staff languages not stated |
Checked on each product's own pages. Click a mark to see where. Swipe sideways on a phone to see every column.
Pick them if
Pick GenkiJACS Tokyo if
Visitors who want a few weeks of small, conversation-focused classes in Shinjuku: the core course runs from 2 weeks, with new classes almost every Monday.
- Small classes, 8 students at most
- Start almost any Monday and stay from 2 weeks
- Homestay and flats booked through the school
Not for: Anyone who wants a student visa in Tokyo or a test-focused course: GenkiJACS runs its visa course only in Fukuoka and Nagoya, and calls itself a conversational school.
Pick Coto Academy (Tokyo) if
Visitors and residents who want short intensive study in central Tokyo: 1 to 4 week options, 3 hours a day, at Shinjuku, Shibuya, Iidabashi or Azabu-Juban.
- Small classes, 8 students at most
- Book by the week, from 1 week
- Several central Tokyo schools, plus online lessons
Not for: Anyone who needs the school to sponsor a student visa: Coto Academy does not, and points to its sister school in Kokubunji.
Pick ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses) if
Visitors who want a short general course at a large school with several Tokyo campuses: the Short-Term General Japanese course runs from 2 weeks, with dorms, homestays and guest houses.
- Fees per campus published for 2026 and 2027
- Own dorms plus homestay and guest houses
- Short and long courses at several Tokyo campuses
Not for: Anyone who wants small classes: ISI says classes hold up to about 20 students.
Pick KAI Japanese Language School if
Learners who can commit to one full term or more in Shinjuku: the General Course takes visitors for one term on a temporary visitor visa, and student visa holders for 1 to 2 years.
- Can join one 3-month term without a student visa
- Fees for 2026 and 2027 published in full
- Long courses with a student visa
Not for: Anyone who wants just 2 to 8 weeks outside summer: the short option is a full term, or the 2 to 3 week summer course in August.
Pick Naganuma School if
Learners who want a Shibuya school with clear published fees: 4-week and term options for visitors, and 1 to 2 year courses with a student visa.
- Full fee tables for 2026 and 2027, tax included
- Weekly options from 4 to 10 weeks
- JLPT N1/N2 prep and online classes
Not for: Anyone on a tight budget for a short stay: fixed fees of about ¥100,000 come on top of tuition for a few weeks.
Pick Akamonkai Japanese Language School if
Learners who want to sit in the same classes as long-term students, with a school dorm: a 3-week course each month, or 3-month short-term terms you can extend.
- Short-term students join the regular classes
- School-owned single-room dorms
- Short-term terms can be extended 3 months at a time
Not for: Anyone who wants JLPT prep classes: its FAQ says it has none, only regular classes.
Pick Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute if
Visitors who want to pay by the day for a short stay in Takadanobaba: visa holders can study under 3 months at a daily rate, or take a 3-month term.
- Pay by the day for stays under 3 months
- JLPT prep course open to outside students
- Online and in-person private lessons
Not for: Anyone who wants small classes: the weekday course allows up to 20 students per class.
What to watch out for
- GenkiJACS Tokyo: No student visa course at the Tokyo school
- GenkiJACS Tokyo: Beginners start only on set Mondays and must know hiragana first
- Coto Academy (Tokyo): No help with housing found on its pages
- Coto Academy (Tokyo): Its own page shows two different 4-week prices: ask for a quote
- ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses): Classes of up to about 20 students
- ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses): Main intakes are January, April, July and October; mid-term starts depend on level
- KAI Japanese Language School: Classes of up to 16, larger than some short-course schools
- KAI Japanese Language School: General Course students must bring or rent an iPad
- Naganuma School: Classes of up to 15
- Naganuma School: School dorm is for women only
- Akamonkai Japanese Language School: No JLPT prep classes
- Akamonkai Japanese Language School: 3-week course page shows an old 2020 schedule: check dates and price before booking
- Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute: Classes of up to 20 students
- Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute: Fee page does not say which year its prices are for
Prices side by side (as of Nov 2026)
Prices are as each site showed them, in its own currency. Several were sale prices when we checked.
GenkiJACS Tokyo as of Nov 2026
- Core Japanese Course: ¥40,000 a week2027 price list. 20 lessons a week, 2 weeks minimum. No tax note found
- Registration fee: ¥18,000One-off, 2027 price list
- Tokyo homestay: ¥39,000 a weekBreakfast and dinner. Plus ¥20,000 placement fee
- Private lessons: ¥8,000 a lessonOnline private lessons ¥6,600 a lesson
Coto Academy (Tokyo) as of Nov 2026
- Intensive, Trial Plan: ¥40,000 for 1 weekYear not stated. 5 days a week, about 3 hours a day. No tax note found
- Intensive, Starter Plan: ¥148,000 for 4 weeksSame page also says "¥136,000 for 4 weeks"; early bird discount if you book 6 weeks ahead
- Intensive, Middle Plan: ¥384,000 for 12 weeks24 weeks ¥696,000
- Registration fee: ¥10,000New students; waived with material fee if you sign up for more than 3 months
ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses) as of Nov 2026
- Short-term, 4 weeks (Shinjuku Main): ¥144,6002026 academic year. Shinjuku Prime ¥149,600; Ikebukuro, Takadanobaba ¥138,120
- Short-term, 10 weeks (Shinjuku Main): ¥241,0002026: admission fee ¥20,000 included. 2027: ¥261,250 (admission ¥30,000). Tax included except Ikebukuro
- Long-term, first year (Shinjuku Main): ¥1,065,0002027 to 2028 year, incl. ¥40,000 application and ¥100,000 admission fees
- Homestay: ¥210,900 for 4 weeksSingle room. Dorm 3 months ¥156,000 to ¥417,000
KAI Japanese Language School as of Nov 2026
- General Course, one term (3 months): ¥320,000 total2026 fees: ¥50,000 registration, ¥260,000 tuition, ¥10,000 materials. 2027: ¥340,000. Course page says a term is 10 weeks. No tax note found
- General Course, two terms (6 months): ¥570,000 total2026 fees. One year ¥1,050,000; 2027: ¥610,000 and ¥1,130,000
- Summer Course 2026: ¥145,000 for 2 weeksAugust only; 3 weeks ¥175,000. Activities package extra
- Private lessons: ¥8,000 a 45-minute lessonWeekdays 9:00 to 18:00, 1 student. Plus ¥10,000 arrangement fee
Naganuma School as of Nov 2026
- Japanese for Interactive Communication, 4 weeks: ¥183,040 total2026 year (to January 2027). Tuition ¥84,040 plus ¥99,000 fees
- Short study by the week, 4 weeks (2027): ¥205,620 totalFrom April 2027, tax included. ¥22,000 application, ¥55,000 admission. 10 weeks ¥352,800
- Single term (3 months): ¥330,0002026 year. 2027: ¥377,000 for 11 weeks
- 1-year program: ¥1,095,0002026 year, incl. ¥150,000 enrolment fee. From April 2027: ¥1,210,000
Akamonkai Japanese Language School as of Nov 2026
- 3-Week Course: ¥70,000¥60,000 in July; textbooks included. Page shows a 2020 schedule, so confirm. Dorm ¥85,000
- Short-term (semi-regular), 3 months: ¥195,000Textbooks and enrolment included. ¥220,000 from April 2027. No tax note found
- General Course, first 6 months: ¥465,000Until January 2027 term. First year ¥845,000 incl. ¥20,000 screening, ¥65,000 enrolment
- General Course, first year from April 2027: ¥915,000Incl. ¥25,000 screening and ¥70,000 enrolment fees
Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute as of Nov 2026
- Visa holders, under 3 months: ¥55,000 + ¥5,000 a day¥40,000 registration and ¥15,000 materials, then ¥5,000 a 4-hour day. Year and tax not stated
- Visa holders, 3 months: ¥265,000Incl. ¥40,000 registration. Residents of Japan pay 3 months in one sum
- Student visa, 1 year: ¥990,000April entry. Incl. ¥40,000 registration and ¥40,000 processing fees
- Private lesson, online: ¥7,700 an hourEnds before 18:00 JST. On campus ¥13,200 an hour, 90-minute lessons. ¥15,000 enrolment fee
Not ready to fly? Best online Japanese courses, some taught by Tokyo schools.
FAQ
How much does a Japanese language school in Tokyo cost?
For a short course, roughly ¥36,000 to ¥75,000 a week plus a registration fee, from the price lists we checked. A year on a student visa is about ¥1 million to ¥1.2 million at Naganuma School, ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses) and Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute. See the price section for each school.
Can I study at a Tokyo school on a tourist visa?
Yes, for courses under 90 days. Schools here with such courses: GenkiJACS Tokyo, Coto Academy (Tokyo), ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses), KAI Japanese Language School, Naganuma School, Akamonkai Japanese Language School and Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute.
Which schools help with housing?
GenkiJACS Tokyo, ISI Language School (Tokyo campuses), KAI Japanese Language School, Naganuma School, Akamonkai Japanese Language School and Shinjuku Japanese Language Institute.
Do you earn money from these links?
No. None of the links on this page are affiliate links.
We checked every fact on this page on each product's own site in Nov 2026. Spotted an error, or a product we should add? Email support@sblocktechnologies.com and we'll check it within a week. Being listed is free.